Cucumber Salad

8 05 2011

Among all the produce I purchased at Costco last week, I acquired a number of cucumbers (3) and, like all my other recent acquisitions, I needed an interesting way to make them tastier than sliced up on a plate.

I was really excited when I found a recipe and I need come right out and say this: I totally poached this recipe from Heidi at 101 Cookbooks.  Truly, this was love at first sight: it used cucumbers and other ingredients I had laying around, presented opportunities to modify it and make it my own, and it looked so fresh.

I’d like to say that the significant other (SO) had the opportunity to try the salad but he didn’t.  I’d like to tell you that I didn’t eat the entire bowl of this salad, which was enough for two people, but I did.  Fortunately I have 2 more cucumbers in the fridge and will be enjoying this salad again this week (i.e. tomorrow) and perhaps the SO will have a chance to try the second batch – but it’s not very likely.

Before we begin, I’d like to say something about roasting.  I burn the things I want to roast at least half the time.  I watch closely for the first 4 minutes and then I get lazy and – BAM – that’s when everything is ruined.  Roasting is tricky because once the ideal temperature is reached, everything browns very quickly.  Remember, constant vigilance while trying roast coconut… or nuts or seeds.

Cucumber Salad

1 cucumber, seeds scraped out

1 tsp chili flakes (more if you like it spicy!)

1/3 cup cilantro, chopped

1/4 cup unsweetened coconut

1/2 tsp cumin

2 Tbsp lemon juice

1 tsp raw sugar

2 Tbsp olive oil, or other tasty salad oil lurking in your cupboard

1/2 cup peanuts

Dice cucumbers into small pieces, approximately the size of small blueberries.  Chop cilantro finely.  Mix cucumbers and cilantro in a large bowl with chili flakes.

In a dry frying pan, begin roasting coconut and cumin on medium heat.  Watch closely to prevent burning.  (Constant vigilance!)  Once the coconut has toasted slightly, set to the side and allow to cool before adding to the big bowl filled with cucumber.

Mix lemon juice, sugar, and oil together.  I like to use little jars so that I can shake the dressing up.  Add the dressing just before serving and then garnish with peanuts.

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

