Carrot Cookies

9 05 2011

I don’t know what I was thinking when I bought 10 lbs of carrots, apples, and broccoli along with too many bananas, zucchinis, and mushrooms.  All I know is that this happens to me whenever I shop at Costco.  The upside to all this produce is that it got me thinking of creative ways to mow through everything before it goes bad.

The first time I made these cookies was last July, after I found a recipe on another blog.  The recipe I found called for walnuts and coconut oil but I didn’t have walnuts and I didn’t want to add fat to my cookies – especially if I could avoid it.  So I substituted bananas for coconut oil, pecans for walnuts, and then I went really crazy and substituted protein for flour.  The outcome was a good cookie with potential to be better.

This time around I made room for puréed apple, fresh ginger, and more protein.  The result was a chewy cookie with a crispy exterior and subtle spice.  Delicious!

Carrot Cookies

3/4 cups spelt four (or all-purpose flour)

1/2 cup vanilla soy protein

1 cup oats

dash salt

2 tsp baking powder

1 cup pecans, chopped

1 cup carrots, chopped or shredded

1 banana

1 large apple with skin, chopped

1/4 cup honey

1/4 cup agave nectar

1 Tbsp vanilla extract

1″ fresh ginger or 1 tsp dried ginger

Preheat over to 375°F.

Mix the flour, protein, oats, salt, baking powder, pecans, and carrots together in a bowl.

In a blender, purée banana, apple, honey, agave, vanilla, and ginger until smooth.  Then mix the purée into dry ingredients until combined.  The consistency of the dough was a little soft; however, if you feel your dough is too soft (maybe you had a really juicy apple) add an additional 1/4 cup of protein powder.

Drop heaping tablespoons of cookie dough onto a parchment lined baking sheet, leaving 2 inches between your cookies.  (I use my measuring spoons to measure out the dough and get evenly sized cookies.)

Bake for 16 minutes and allow to cool for at least 5 minutes before you enjoy.  This recipe baked 36 small cookies.

*Original recipe from http://www.101cookbooks.com/archives/carrot-oatmeal-cookies-recipe.html

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

