Amazing Carrot Cake

11 05 2011

Carrot cake is not my first choice, even when covered in a thick layer of icing; however, this may have changed that opinion.  It is sweet, flavorful, and not too heavy.  I had intended to take a nice picture of this cake but it began to disappear quickly once it had cooled – it didn’t last 12-hours in my house.

Last September a friend made a chocolate beet cake for her son’s birthday,  that was my jumping off point.  Although I replace one root vegetable with another, I didn’t think chocolate was the right flavor for this cake.  So I chose chocolate’s antithesis: vanilla.

Although this cake was quickly devoured in my house, it could have been finished with a light vanilla icing for a more finished product.  An alternative to icing would be to serve this amazing carrot cake with a fruit compote – I’m particularly fond of rhubarb because it’s in season and my neighbour just gave me a dozen stalks.

Amazing Carrot Cake

1 cup spelt flour

1/2 cup protein powder, preferably vanilla

1/2 cup potato starch

1/2 cup sugar

1/2 cup unsweetened coconut

1/2 tsp Stevia extract

1 Tbsp arrowroot flour

1/4 tsp salt

2 tsp baking soda

2 Tbsp vanilla extract

1 cup unsweetened applesauce

1 cup puréed carrots†

2 tsp apple cider vinegar

Option – 1 cup raisins

Preheat the over to 345°F and prepare a pan for baking, either a 9″ spring-form pan or 9″ x 9″ square.

In a large mixing bowl, combine spelt flour, protein powder, potato starch, sugar, coconut, stevia extract, arrowroot flour, salt, and baking soda.

Combine vanilla, applesauce, carrot purée, and apple cider vinegar together before adding to dry ingredients.  Once the wet ingredients have been mixed together, add to flour mixture and combine.  If you like raisins in your cake, this is the time to add them!  (Advice for vegan cakes is normally to stir only until just mixed; however, I used my Kitchen Aid mixer for this cake and let it mix for nearly a minute without any disastrous effects.)

Your cake batter will be thick, roughly brownie batter thick; don’t panic, that’s normal.  Pour batter into prepared cake pan, ensuring to spread thick batter into corners.

Bake for 45 – 60 minutes, until your cake passes the toothpick test (a toothpick or knife inserted into the cake comes out clean).  Allow cake to cool for at least 15 minutes before you dig in; I used to devour hot cake not realizing that the cooling period is part of the cooking process, giving the cake some more time to set up.

Although this cake is delicious on it’s own, it could be finished with icing of your choice once it has cooled completely or a fruit compote.

† To make puréed carrots, peel and cut enough carrots for purée – roughly 1 1/2 cups raw carrots.  Boil or steam carrots until soft and allow to cool.  Once cool, place in a food processor and run until smooth.  If you do not have a food processor, place the carrots in a blender with vanilla and apple cider vinegar and blend until the smooth – the liquid is necessary in a blender to make a smooth purée.

* Originally recipe from http://blog.fatfreevegan.com/2006/02/cant-be-beet-chocolate-cake.html

Actions

Information

One response

21 09 2011
Butternut Squash Cake « Pk Cooks

[…] my blog regularly (I’m talking to you N), you may recognize this as being very similar to my amazing carrot cake.  It is but I had to change it because I’m on a mission to empty my baking supply cupboard […]

Leave a Reply

