Carrot Pie

12 05 2011

That’s right.  Carrot pie.  I’ve made pies with sweet potatoes and pumpkins, why not carrots?  Exactly, there’s no good reason not to make pie with carrots, especially since we enjoy cookies and cakes made with carrots.

I began by tackling the worst part: making pastry.  I enjoy pie, but I detest making pastry.  That being said, whenever I make pie I realize that making pastry isn’t half as bad as I imagine it will be.  Still, in the aftermath of making this carrot pie I am already dreading the next time I have to make pie.  If you hate making pastry as much as I do and can live with a firmer crust, I have the recipe for you.

Making the filling was easy as… let’s avoid the clichés and just say the filling was easy to make.  What was a challenging was not eating everything in one sitting.  Significant Other (SO) and I were unsuccessful in that, we ate the entire pie in one sitting.

Pastry

1 cup Earth Balance (or vegetable shortening)

3/4 cup boiling water

3 cups pasty flour (or all purpose flour)

2 Tbsp baking powder

dash salt

In a large bowl, mix flour, baking powder, and salt together.  Add the Earth Balance, cutting it into the flour.  I used my hands even though my hands warm the fat and affect the pastry, it’s just easier to use your hands to evenly distribute the fat throughout the flour mixture.

Add the boiling water and stir.  Once the pastry becomes too think to stir, use your hands and gently knead until everything is combined.

This is where my process differs from everyone else.  Instead of refrigerating a lump of pastry and then getting angry that cold pastry cracks when I try to roll it out, I roll it first!  So, grab some wax paper or parchment paper and tear off 4 good sized pieces – they need to be big enough to cover your pastry.

Divide your dough in two, patting down to form a patty.  Place on one sheet of wax paper and cover with a second piece of wax paper and begin to roll out.  I like my pastry rolled out to 0.5 cm thick (just less than a 1/4″).  Once you’ve rolled out both balls of dough, place them in the fridge on a flat surface and allow to chill for about 3 hours before using.

Just before you’re going to bake the pie, place the pastry in the pie plate and fill with filling – in this case carrot filling, and then bake.

Carrot Pie

2 cups puréed carrot

1/4 cup soy milk

2 Tbsp arrowroot flour

1/4 cup raw sugar

1/4 tsp stevia

1 tsp cinnamon

1/4 tsp nutmeg

1/4 tsp ginger

1/4 tsp cloves

Preheat the oven to 350°F.

Mix all the ingredients together, a blender or food processor does a good job.

Pull the pie crust out of the fridge and place in pie plate*.  Pour filling into the crust and spread evenly.

Bake for 1 hour.  Let to cool to room temperature in order to allow filling to firm up.

* Note: I did not use a pie plate, instead I made galette style pies, which are free form.

Actions

Information

One response

20 05 2011
My Favorite Pie Crusts | My Secret Recipe Box

[…] Carrot Pie (pkcooks.wordpress.com) […]

Leave a Reply

