Red Cabbage and Orange Salad

24 05 2011

I meant to post this sooner, but long-weekends create anomalies in time: 3-days somehow simultaneously feels like a the most relaxing 2-days and like a 5-day weekend.  I made this last week and devoured the four portions it made in two sittings.

I love cabbage but SO refuses to eat it.

A couple of times a year I buy a head of cabbage and try – desperately try – to eat the whole thing before it goes bad.  I have never succeeded.  A whole head of cabbage is a heck of a lot of cabbage for one woman to eat in one week.  Last week I was in the organic store near my gym and they had small 1/2 heads of cabbage wrapped up and ready for one woman to eat in two sittings.  At $1.76 it seemed like a crime not to buy the cabbage.

This recipe was adapted from my new Ani Phyo cookbook Ani’s Raw Food Essentials, and was delicious.  The citrus helps to break down the cabbage and the dried blueberries add a hint of sweetness, don’t get me started on how happy the colour of this salad makes me.  (It makes me pretty happy.)

Red Cabbage and Orange Salad

4 cups red cabbage, chopped

2 cups segmented oranges, pits, peels, and pith removed

3 Tbsp dried blueberries (or cranberries)

2 Tbsp pumpkin seeds

2 Tbsp lime juice

2+ Tbsp oil: olive oil, hemp oil, flax oil, or an EFA oil of your choice

pinch of salt

pinch of pepper

Place chopped cabbage, segmented oranges, dried blueberries, and pumpkin seeds into a large bowl.  I like my cabbage chopped up into small pieces, but if you prefer, you could simply cut your cabbage into thin slices.  Thinly sliced cabbage creates noodle-like pieces.  Also, I broke my orange segments up into smaller pieces so that I could have a bit of orange in every bit.  Like with the cabbage, you may prefer to leave your orange segments whole.

Not sure how to segment and orange, check out this video.  Note, they recommend saving the juice from the orange membrane for dressing but this recipe does not use the juice.  Feel free to save that fresh orange juice for something else or drink it while you finish preparing the salad!

Add lime juice, oil, salt, and pepper to salad and toss to mix.

If you’re living on the wild side, feeling adventurous, and have blueberries on hand; feel free to add 1/4 cup of fresh blueberries to each salad before serving.

This will keep for 2 -3 days in the fridge, but it’s best fresh because lime juice will wilt the cabbage, causing it to release liquid.  The longer your salad sits, the the more liquid you’ll have at the bottom of the bowl.

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

