Pineapple & Kiwi Salad

26 05 2011

Ever have one of those days?  I took a number of photos for this recipe, including photos throughout the preparation, then I deleted them all.  I get really irritated when my computer or camera double checks before deleting items, “Are you sure you want to permanently delete this?” but then I get irritated when I don’t get the double check before I screw up.  Alas, that is life.  The above photo is what remains of this salad.

This recipe comes from The Raw Truth, by Jeremy Safron.  This is not my favourite raw cookbook, but every so often it surprises me, this pineapple and kiwi salad is an example.  A fresh combination of sweet and savoury come together to create a balance that could be enjoyed as a meal or as dessert.  If you decide to enjoy this as a meal, I would suggest serving it on  a bed of spinach.

In the photo you’ll notice that I didn’t remove the kiwi skins, if you really dislike the skin, feel free to peel the kiwi.  But, before you discard the skins, remember that the skins are a good source of flavanoid antioxidants.

*Photo from http://leonora-recipes.blogspot.com/

The recipe called for apple mint and it just so happens that I planted apple mint in my garden this year.  I’m no botanist but from what I can tell, apple mint has larger leaves and a hint of apple flavour.  If you don’t have a garden with apple mint, then you may not find this ingredient – I don’t think I’ve ever seen it in the grocery store – but it can easily be substituted with regular mint.

Pineapple & Kiwi Salad

1-1/2 cups fresh pineapple, chopped

1 red bell pepper, seeded and diced

4 kiwis, diced

1/4 cup parsley, minced

1/4 cup apple mint leaves, minced

juice of 1/2 an orange

In a large bowl mix together the diced pineapple, peppers, kiwis, and herbs.  Stir in the orange juice – I placed a sieve over the bowl to catch seeds.

This salad will keep for 2 days in the fridge, although I’m not sure it will last long.

Serves 2 to 4

*Original recipe from The Raw Truth, p 56.

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

