Sweet Green Smoothie

3 06 2011

It’s summer, fresh produce is in abundance, and I’m looking for light meals that will give me the energy that I need to tackle the raspberries that are threatening to take over my yard.

(Raspberries are bottom left and back right, the brown spot in the middle is the space I’ve cleared for zucchini, beets, and tomatoes.  Don’t fret, I am keeping some of the raspberries.)

A whole food smoothie, loaded with soluble fiber, helps to give you steady energy.  Normally my smoothies lean to the fruitier side of life: bananas, berries, watermelon, oranges, and pineapple!  Actually, a lot of my fruit and vegetable eating leans to the fruitier side of life.  With this realization, I decided to try and get more veggie representation in my diet.

This smoothie is sweet, with lots of fiber and all the benefits of vegetables without any strong vegetable flavours.  Given everything that goes into this, it could easily be enough for two but I was really hungry after my workout and enjoyed the whole thing on my own.

Maybe when they’re ripe, I should try a tomato and raspberry smoothie.  Or maybe not.

Are there any recommendations for delicious fruit and veggie smoothies?

Sweet Green Smoothie

1 kiwi

1 banana

1 orange

1/2 cup baby spinach

1/2 cup cucumber, chopped

ice

water

Get your blender or food processor ready.  Cut the ends off your kiwi and place it in your blender (or food processor) – I leave the skin on because it’s loaded with flavonoid antioxidants, which may delay or prevent the onset of diseases and are anti-inflammatory, among other things.  Peel banana and add it to the blender.

You can peel your orange and add the individual segments or you can the longer route like me.  I use a knife to cut away the peel, then quarter the orange, which allows me to cut away the pithy white bits in the middle and dig out any seeds.  Which ever method you choose, add your peeled orange to the blender.

Add spinach and cucumber to the blender and blend until you have a coarse mixture.  The cucumber and orange will add a lot of liquid to this smoothie, so you don’t want to add water straight away.  Add a few pieces of ice and a little bit of water, continue blending until smooth.  Feel free to add more ice and water until you get the desired consistency.

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

