Single Serving Borscht

4 06 2011

If you’re not familiar, borscht comes from Russian and Ukrainian cooking – actually, you’ll probably find borscht in any region populated by hardy people, who’s land grows an abundance of root crops… this is based on nothing but my own supposition.

Recipes vary, but your basic borscht is broth with onions, dill, beets, beet greens, potatoes, and sometimes carrots. Growing up, my mom would serve borscht with a scoop of sour cream on top, while cold borscht would be served with the sour cream mixed in.

Last fall my neighbour gave me two jars of pickled beets. I like pickled beets but, aside from eating them straight out of the jar, I have no idea what to do with them. As a result I still have one and a half jars of pickled beets left. Then, a few weeks ago, while flipping through canning books at Chapters, I spotted some recipes that called for pickled beets! I didn’t buy the book, but I read the recipe and decided to use it as a jumping off point.

The recipe stayed in the back of my head until I spotted a new brand of soy yogurt. (It’s probably not a new brand, it’s just new to me and my grocery store.) Now was the time for making creamy, cold borscht! I erred on the side of caution, making one bowl to prevent wasting beets if the soup turned out to be awful. Fortunately it was good and easy enough that making it a single serving isn’t tedious.

Single Serving Borscht

1 Tbsp red onion, finely diced

1 Tbsp fresh dill, chopped – feel free to add more dill

1/4 cup soy yogurt

1/2 cup pickled beets, diced

splash of pickling liquid

water

salt & pepper to taste

In a soup bowl, mash red onion and fresh dill together until dill is bruised and fragrant. Add soy yogurt, diced pickled beets, and a splash (1 tsp – 1 Tbsp) of pickling liquid from the jar, stir and enjoy watching your white yogurt turn a glorious pink.

This soup should be about the consistency of chowder, although you could enjoy it thicker, add water accordingly. I would recommend adding water 1 or 2 Tbsp at a time; it’s easier to add more water, it’s a pain in the rear to figure out what to do when you’ve added too much.

Taste your soup and adjust the flavour with salt and pepper.

This can be enjoyed immediately or can be refrigerated for up to 2-days before enjoying. If you would like to be fancy, garnish the soup with a sprig of dill.

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

