Chocolate Mint Cookies

13 06 2011

Mint, it’s invasive but delicious.  I want to be mad that it’s popping up all over the place, but I’d rather have mint taking over than the mysterious plant I thought was goat’s beard.  (I swear I thought that’s what it’s called, but when I Google goat’s beard, I get images of something that is not growing in my backyard.  All I know is that this mystery plant is not edible.  If you’re going to take over my yard, you better be useful, and by that I mean edible.)

I normally associate the combination of chocolate and mint with fall or Christmas, but with mint taking over part of my backyard and there being only so mojitos I can drink, these cookies seemed like a good idea.

I’d like to make a quick comment on Stevia.  I like it.  I like it a lot.  it’s a natural calorie free sweetener that’s derived from the Stevia plant, which bears a striking resemblance to mint.  It’s over the top sweet, which is why you only need a little bit.  It’s not cheap but it will last a long time.  That being said, if you’d rather just use raw sugar, you’ll need to make the following adjustment: 2/3 cup raw sugar and 2 cups flour.

I was surprised with how fluffy, but not cakey, these cookies were.  I was not surprised that these cookies were able to persuade my neighbour to the most delicious recipe for red lentil stew, which I’m hoping to make for my parents this weekend while I’m home visiting and graduating.

Chocolate Mint Cookies

½ cup Earth Balance (or margarine)

1/3 cup raw sugar

¼ cup maple syrup

¼ tsp Stevia powder

1 tsp mint extract

2 tsp vanilla

3 Tbsp almond milk (or soy milk)

2 1/3 cups flour

½ cup cocoa powder

1 tsp baking soda

¼ tsp salt

½ cup fresh mint, chopped (optional)

1 large bar of dark chocolate (optional)

Preheat oven to 350 and line two cookie sheets with parchment paper.  Break up your bar of chocolate so that you’ll have one piece for each cookie.  You might be wondering how many pieces you’ll need.

  • If you make small cookies, you’ll need approximately 32 pieces.
  • If you make big ice cream scoop sized cookies, you’ll need approximately 12 big pieces.
  • If you’re going live wildly, and enjoy diversely sized cookies, you’ll need to make an educated guess.

In a mixing bowl, cream Earth Balance with sugar, maple syrup, Stevia powder, mint extract, and vanilla together.

In a separate bowl, mix flour, cocoa powder, baking soda, and salt together.  Combine your wet and dry ingredients together, adding the mint at the end.

I like to use my measuring spoons to give me evenly sized, small cookies.  If you like big cookies, you can use an ice cream scoop.  Or if you aren’t as fussy as I am, you can just use a spoon and enjoy the diversity of cookie size you’ll get.  Squish a piece of dark chocolate onto each cookie.  Not only does the chocolate make the cookies look finished, it squishes them down just right.

Bake your cookies for 12 minutes.

Enjoy!

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

