Curried Red Lentil and Kale Stew with Garbanzo Beans

14 06 2011

I cannot speak highly enough about this dish.

Over the winter, my next door neighbour raved about how our neighbour across the street makes the best lentil stew.  A few weeks ago I had the privilege of trying her famous lentil stew and can qualify that it is everything I was promised it would be and more.

Following the recipe, you can serve this in bowls as is – nothing extra – and easily feed six people.  You could also serve this on top of mashed potatoes, quinoa, or rice and serve 8 – 10 people.  Or you could take a meager portion of leftovers, add some extra water, and enjoy this as a soup.  I’m going to add that the first time I tried this it was stone-cold, I had to force myself to heat it up before I devoured the whole thing cold.

I made this for my parents, serving it with a salad of carrots and asparagus, and they really enjoyed it.  I know they’re my parents and might pretend to like something to save my feelings, but the day after I was disappointed to find that my dad had taken the leftovers – ALL 2+ servings – to work for lunch.  He wouldn’t have done that if he was pretending to like this stew.

Curried Red Lentil and Kale Stew with Garbanzo Beans

1 bunch kale, tough stalks removed, coarsely chopped (about 7 – 8 cups)

2 Tbsp olive oil

1/4 cup onion, diced

5 tsp curry powder

1/4 tsp cayenne pepper

5 cups vegetable broth (or a combination of vegetable broth and water)

2 cups red lentils, dry

2 cups garbanzo beans, cooked/canned

Heat oil in a large heavy pan over medium heat.  Add onion and sauté until golden.

Mix in curry and cayenne pepper, then add broth and chopped kale.  Increase heat, bringing to a boil.

Add lentils and garbanzo beans; reduce heat to medium.  Cover and simmer until lentils are tender, stirring occasionally.  The red lentils will take 10 – 15 minutes to cook.

Actions

Information

One response

18 06 2011
Scientific Studies Confirm Cayenne Pepper Kills Cancer Cells » The Spice Style

[…] Curried Red Lentil and Kale Stew with Garbanzo Beans (pkcooks.wordpress.com) Related Posts :Green Mayonnaise With Garlic, Lemon Balm, Lov… Paleo Cookbooks Canning TV: Eggplant Recipes : Eggplant Canni… Nutmeg TV: Betty's Kentucky Butter Roll Recip… Herb TV: My Garden – Tomato chamomile lawn an… […]

Leave a Reply

