Zucchini Cakes that aren’t crabby

1 07 2011

My friend was given a “vegan” cookbook for Christmas that has some amazing recipes, some of which are definitely not vegan.  These zucchini cakes are their substitute for crab cakes but feature cheese and eggs.  This recipe is cheese and egg free.

This recipe does call for Daiya or non-dairy cheese, I know that there are lots of people who choose to be vegan to eat more natural food and this doesn’t fit with their preferred eating habits.  Although I haven’t tried the recipe without Daiya, I’m pretty sure you could add another tablespoon of tofu and a tablespoon or two of flour, and maintain the crispy on the outside, soft on the inside consistency of these zucchini cakes.

Please let me know if you try these cakes with the non-dairy cheese substitute listed above.  It’s going to be weeks before the zucchinis in my garden are ready, so I’m not sure when I’ll be making these again.

P.S. Final photo: I ate my zucchini cakes with spinach and mashed beans – in case you were wondering.

Zucchini Cakes

2 cups grated zucchini

1/2 cup wheat germ

1/2 cup ground almonds or almond flour

1/2 cup soy cheese or Daiya

1/2 cup diced onions

1 tsp dry egg replacer or ground flax

2 Tbsp soft tofu

1 tsp Braggs or tamari soy sauce

1 tsp dijon mustard

1/2 tsp pepper

Prepare the ingredients: choppings, dicing, grating, and grinding.  Mix everything together in one bowl.  Seriously, it’s that easy.

Cook zucchini cakes in a non-stick pan on medium heat.  If you’re concerned about sticking, add a little non-stick spray or a very little bit of coconut oil to the pan.  To create evenly sized cakes, I use my ice cream scoop; if you don’t have an ice cream scoop, use a 1/3 cup dry measure to portion out your cakes.   The cakes will take approximately 6 minutes on each side.  As you can see in my photos, the cakes can get pretty dark but non of them burned – the few that I cooked to golden brown tasted like they needed another few minutes to cook.

If you want, you can let it rest or cook a few cakes now and cook a few more tomorrow.  If you make 1/3 cup sized cakes, you’ll end up with approximately 9 cakes.  Need more?  Make ’em smaller!

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

