Hot and Sour Soup

5 07 2011

It’s been hot.  Really hot.  Fortunately I’m part lizard and I love the heat.  I thrive in the heat.  Which is possibly why I made hot and sour soup on a scorching hot day.

That and I suddenly got excited about using the fake meat products I bought at a festival.  This is the “meat” that is served served at Padmanadi – my favorite restaurant.  I assumed it was all gluten, but it’s got a lot of mushrooms in it, which is probably why it tastes so good.

In the recipe below I suggest using tofu if you don’t have or don’t like fake meat.  The end result is just as delicious.

If you’re looking for the fake meat I used – mushroom chicken – check out Paradis Vegetarien.

Hot and Sour Soup

3 cups vegetable broth

1 package/2 cups medium-firm tofu, cubed (or veggie-meat replacement)

1 can (227 mL) sliced bamboo shoots

1 cup mushrooms, sliced

2 Tbsp onion, chopped

1/3 cup unseasoned rice wine vinegar

3 Tbsp soy sauce or Braggs

salt & pepper to taste

1 cup snow peas

1 – 2 tsp chili flakes

1 tsp sesame oil

In a large pan, bring broth and 2 cups of water to boil.

While your broth and water are busy getting hot, prepare your other ingredients.  Cube your tofu.  Slice your mushrooms.  (I generally use cremini mushrooms because I have them and I like them.  Sometimes I’m a rebel, and I use portobello mushrooms, other times I’m fancy and I use shiitake or wood ear mushrooms.  If you have a mushroom preference, go for it!)  Chop your onions.  Trim the ends and de-string your snow peas. And drain your bamboo shoots.

Add tofu, mushrooms, onions, and bamboo to the broth; return to boil.

Stir in rice wine vinegar, soy sauce, salt, pepper, snow peas, chili flakes, and sesame oil.  This is the final step, if you don’t want your snow peas overcooked, turn off the heat now and allow the peas to cook in the hot soup.

Grab your bowls and serve immediately!  This should serve 4 people, but if you like this soup and are a voracious eater like me, it will probably serve 2 people.

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

