Miso Sesame Dressing

9 07 2011

Last week I decided I wanted to eat more salad.  Then I thought I could blog about salad dressing because I find it hard to come with new and tasty dressings for my salad.  Yes, hot sauce is a delicious dressing that I enjoy, but not everybody wants hot sauce on their spinach salad.

Anyway, I was devastated today when I finished my lunch (and the dressing) thinking I had forgotten to photograph it all.  Ha ha!  I may have forgotten today, but I didn’t forget yesterday.  I am so glad my camera has a memory that’s longer than mine.

The salad pictured has arugula, spinach, shredded cucumber and carrots, tomatoes, peanuts and chili flakes (I love the spicy!).  Today I enjoyed the same dressing on a salad of arugula, pear, avocado and walnuts; which was also tasty.

This isn’t quite the dressing that you get on your salad in Japanese restaurants, but it’s pretty darn close.

Miso Sesame Dressing

2 Tbsp miso paste

2 Tbsp sesame seed oil

2 Tbsp rice wine vinegar

2 Tbsp water

1 tsp ground ginger

1/2 tsp agave nectar

Jam everything into a glass jar, seal with a lid, and shake-shake-shake!  Shake until everything is combined.

Although it will separate, it stores in the fridge for about a week.

*Original recipe from Get it Ripe by jae steele

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

