Dinner Part 2

10 07 2011

I borrowed Get it Ripe from my lovely neighbour while I was looking after her amazing cats.

She said I absolutely had to try the Crispy-Fried Tofu.  She said it was really easy.   She said it was too tasty for how easy it was to prepare.  She was right.

Reading over the recipe now, I realize that I cut my tofu quite thick.  I cut the brick in half to create two squares.  I cut each square into two slices, then cut the squares in half to create triangles.  One package gave me 8 pieces.  The recipe suggests cutting the tofu no more than 1/2 cm thick, which is pretty thin.

No matter how thick of thin you cut your tofu, this recipe unbelievably good.

Crispy-Fried Tofu

3 Tbsp Tamari soy sauce

1/3 cup nutritional yeast

I pkg firm tofu

oil for frying, I recommend coconut or peanut oil because they maintain their integrity at high temperatures

Pour tamari sauce into a saucer or onto a plate.  Measure out nutritional yeast onto a separate plate or saucer.  Allow a few tofu slices at a time to sit in the tamari sauce (10 – 60 seconds per side).  Remove tofu from tamari, allowing excess sauce to drip off, then coat each side with nutritional yeast and set aside.  Repeat until all the tofu has been coated.

Heat 1 Tbsp of oil in a large skillet on medium heat.  When the skillet gets hot, start adding as much tofu as you can in a single layer.  Fry for about 4 minutes, until golden, then flip and continue to fry n the other side for 3 minutes.

Repeat until the tofu is fried, adding additional oil to the pan for each batch.

These are good cold, but they’re best eaten still warm from the pan.

*originally from Get it Ripe by jae steele

Actions

Information

2 responses

12 07 2011
Rachael@SpachetheSpatula

Yum! I LOVE crispy tofu and yours looks great!

Cute kitties :3

19 09 2011
Potato-free Hash « Pk Cooks

[…] what about the tofu?  I re-made crispy fried tofu, if you haven’t made it yet – go and make […]

Leave a Reply

