Peach Pecan Muffins

20 07 2011

With the house to myself, I loaded up on all the things that I like to eat.  I bought a lot of fruit, so much so that I think I could call myself a fruit-a-tarian instead of a vegetarian.  I rarely buy peaches: they have to be just right to be good and the peaches I bought were just right.

While eating one on a particularly hot day, I remembered the cooked peach desserts my mom used to make and immediately felt a craving.  Thankfully jae steele included Peach Pecan Muffins in Ripe from Around Here.

My muffins turned out a little on the dry side because I forgot to add an entire cup of soy milk to the batter.  The good news is that they were still good, friends at the gym thought they were delicious.  My friend K felt the need to describe them as dryer than the Sahara desert, though he didn’t mind eating half a dozen of them while visiting.

Boys!

Anyway, I’d recommend including all the ingredients and not leaving out the soy milk.

Peach Pecan Muffins

2 1/2 cups spelt flour

1/2 cup roughly chopped pecans, toasted

2 tsp baking powder

1 tsp baking soda

1/2 tsp cinnamon

1/2 tsp salt

1 cup non dairy milk

1/2 cup unsweetened apple sauce

1/2 cup liquid sweetner (agave nectar or maple syrup)

1/2 cup coconut oil

1 tsp vanilla

1 1/2 cups diced peaches (fresh or frozen, if frozen – do not thaw)

Preheat oven to 375º.  Prepare a 12-cup muffin tray with liners or a light coating of oil and set aside.  I like to lightly oil the paper liners, since vegan muffins are normally really low in fat, this helps prevent the paper from sticking to the muffin.

Whisk together the flour, pecans, baking powder and soda, cinnamon, and salt in a large bowl.  Add the milk, applesauce, sweetener, oil, and vanilla.  Mi together untilall the flour has been absorbed.

Gently fold in the peaches.

Evenly fill prepared muffin cups.  This is another opportunity to let your ice cream scoop do the work or making sure everything is even.

Bake for 25 minutes, until the tops are domed and a toothpick inserted in the center comes out clean.

Makes 12 muffins.  My batch, missing 1 cup of soy milk, made 16 muffins.

*recipe from Ripe from Around Here by jae steele.

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

