Chickpea Edamame Burgers

19 08 2011

Right from the start I liked these little patties but I wasn’t certain they were a crowd pleaser.

Then SO ate them and liked them.  Liked them so much he took a bunch to work to share, and his colleagues liked them.  Then I talked about them with the girls last night and there “ohs and ahs” even though they hadn’t even tasted them.  I guess maybe other people will like these little patties right from the start.

Remember how I mentioned that my little mini-food processor died?  It’s still dead and it’s pride of place in my cupboard remains empty.  In order to make this recipe I used my Kitchen Aid meat grinder.  That’s right, I have a meat grinder that’s never been remotely close to touching meat.  Initially I wanted it to grind up sprouted beans but now it’s standing in as my food processor and doing a grand job.

Hat’s off to you little meat grinder!

But I’d recommend using a food processor.

P.S.  This is yet another recipe from The Best Veggie Burgers on the Planet by Joni Marie Newman.

Chickpea Edamame Burgers

2 cups shelled frozen edamame

1 chickpeas, rinsed

1/2 cup finely ground cashews

1/2 cup nutritional yeast

2 cloves garlic

1/2 tsp cumin

1/4 tsp liquid smoke (optional)

1 tsp Bragg’s or soy sauce

salt and pepper to taste

2 cups chickpea flour

Thaw the edamame.  Either leave it in your fridge, run hot water over it, or microwave it.  Basically you just need to make it not frozen.

Combine everything but the flour together in a food processor and process until smooth.  Pour into a large bowl.

Slowly add the flour until a thicker consistency is formed.  Depending on the moisture content of your misture, you may need just little flour or a whole lot.

Place the entire bowl in the fridge for 20 – 30 minutes to allow the mixture to rest and make it easier to form patties.  When the mixture has rested, divide and shape into 16 patties.

When you’re ready to cook them, you can either pan fry them – cooking for 4 – 5 minutes per side.  Or you can bake them for 23 minutes at 350ºF.

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

