Peppermint Cookies

21 08 2011

I planted mint in containers around my yard early in the spring.  Now, I have mint.  Lots of mint.

With fresh mint and a hankering for cookies, I decided to combine the two.  What I didn’t realize when I set out was that I used all my baking sugar the last time I baked.  So I had to open a zillion little packets of sugar.

I recommend using sugar that comes in bags or boxes instead.

As well, making these cookies I completely forgot basic multiplication.  Some how 3 x 6 equals 36, so I was thrilled to discover that two batches of 3 x 6 cookies would mean I have 72 cookies.  I was shocked – SHOCKED – when I pulled the first tray of cookies out of the oven and found that I was short changed.

So, unless you make two batches of cookies, you should end up with 32 cookies.

P.S. This recipe is originally from Ripe from Around Here by jae steele, but I made some minor changes.

Peppermint Cookies

3 1/3 cups spelt four

1/3 cup sugar

1/4 tsp Stevia extract

2 Tbsp minced fresh mint

1/2 tsp baking powder

1/4 tsp salt

2/3 cup coconut oil

1/3 cup apple sauce

2 – 3 Tbsp filtered water (as needed)

1 tsp vanilla extract

8 drops peppermint essential oil (or 1/4 tsp peppermint extract)

Preheat over to 325ºF.  Perpare 2 baking sheets with parchment paper.

Whisk together the flour, sugar, Stevia, mint, baking power, and salt in a large bowl.  Add the oil, applesauce, 2 Tbsp water, vanilla extract and peppermint extract and mix until the flour has been absorbed.  Add the final tablespoon of water if needed to bring the cookie dough to a smooth consistency.

Roll into tablespoon sized balls and place them on the baking sheet.  Press each ball gently with a the bottom of a sugar coated glass.  (The glass will get sticky after each ball is pressed, picking up enough sugar for the next cookie.)

Bake for 13 minutes.

Let cool completely before storing in an airtight container.  Or allow to cool before devouring straight from the cookie sheet.

Actions

Information

One response

23 08 2011
Lip Licking Moments & Recipe BlogMelting Moments Recipe - Lip Licking Moments

[…] Peppermint Cookies (pkcooks.wordpress.com) Share Tweet Categories: Supplier Stories Tags: Autumn, Bakery & Pantry, Breakfast, Chai, Cooking with friends, Dessert, Herbs Spices & Dry Rubs, Jam, lemon, Music, Oils Juices Vinegars & Dressings, organic, plain flour, Summer, Teas Coffees & Hot Chocolate, Vanilla, vegetarian, Winter Comments (0) Trackbacks (0) Leave a comment Trackback […]

Leave a Reply

