Pastey Paste

12 09 2011

A couple of months ago I made fresh Thai green curry paste and was thoroughly delighted with the results.  I never actually made curry with my paste, though.  I enjoyed it on crackers, toast, and like pesto on vegetables.  I decided to make it again.  Except, in true PK fashion, I didn’t follow the recipe.

In my defense, I didn’t follow the recipe because I didn’t have all the ingredients, my jalapenos were nearly past their prime, and I was too lazy to go out and get the missing ingredients.  Despite lacking a whole lot of things, the results have been spicy and flavorful, adding a hot twist to my tofu scrambles.

Green Curry Paste.

1 tsp coriander seeds

1/2 tsp cumin seeds

6 jalapeno peppers

3 cloves of garlic

1/4 cup red onion

1 tsp dried ginger

2 limes

1 Tbsp sesame seed oil

In a dry skilled, lightly toast coriander and cumin seeds until they become fragrant.

Chop up the jalapenos, onions, and garlic.  Chop up the limes as well, peels and all!  Jam everything into a food processor or blender and whiz it around until it’s all blended up.

Of course, if you’d like something more authentic, you should definitely check out the original recipe.  But, if you’re a lazy bones like me, the above recipe will do in a pinch.

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

