Butternut Squash Cake

22 09 2011

Here’s the deal, this cake was dense.  Real.  Dense.

It’s so dense that you could almost call this a scone.

Actually, you could probably spoon out the cake batter on a baking sheet and bake little scones or mini-cake things.  Whatever you do to form your cake, I don’t think you’ll be angry at me for making you make this cake.

Despite being filled with fall’s bounty, this cake doesn’t really taste like fall.  If that disappoints you, just add 1 tsp of cinnamon and 1/2 tsp of pumpkin spice and you’ll have the autumnest cake ever.

For those people who read my blog regularly (I’m talking to you N), you may recognize this as being very similar to my amazing carrot cake.  It is but I had to change it because I’m on a mission to empty my baking supply cupboard before re-stocking.  I’m getting close to empty, but I’m not quite there yet.

Butternut Squash Cake

1 cup spelt flour

1/2 cup protein powder, preferably vanilla

1/2 cup arrowroot flour

1/2 cup sugar

1 cup unsweetened coconut

1/2 tsp Stevia extract

1/4 tsp salt

2 tsp baking soda

2 Tbsp vanilla extract

1 cup unsweetened applesauce

1 cup minced roasted butternut squash

2 tsp apple cider vinegar

Preheat the over to 345°F and prepare a pan for baking, either a 9″ spring-form pan or 9″ x 9″ square.

In a large mixing bowl, combine spelt flour, protein powder, arrowroot flour, sugar, coconut, stevia extract, salt, and baking soda.

Combine vanilla, applesauce, minced roasted butternut squash, and apple cider vinegar together before adding to dry ingredients.  Once the wet ingredients have been mixed together, add to flour mixture and combine.  (Advice for vegan cakes is normally to stir only until just mixed; however, I used my Kitchen Aid mixer for this cake and let it mix for nearly a minute without any disastrous effects.)

Your batter will be thick, roughly brownie batter thick; don’t panic, that’s normal.  Pour batter into prepared 8 x8 cake pan, ensuring to spread thick batter into corners.

Bake for 45 minutes and then allow cake to cool for at least 15 minutes before you dig in; I used to devour hot cake not realizing that the cooling period is part of the cooking process, giving the cake some more time to set up.

P.S.  I’ve been wanting for sweet, sweet baked stuff for the past few days and I was SO disappointed to find that SO had finished the last of the treats I baked.  The bad news is that it’s all gone.  The good news is that SO wasn’t lying when he said the cake was good.

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

