Red Velvet Cookies

24 09 2011

Ok, I’d like to confess that these aren’t fat free but they are so darn close to fat free that I can’t even believe it.  In my defense, there’s only 2 tablespoons of oil and I’m willing to wager that the oil could be replaced with half a banana.  I’m not trying that today, but you’re more than welcome to give it a go.

Calling them beet cookies doesn’t sound as tasty as calling them red velvet cookies.

And let me assure you, these are tasty cookies.

Very tasty.

I wasn’t certain if their chewy nature was amazing or not until SO confirmed it by devouring a couple or 5 cookies.

Red Velvet Cookies

1/2 cup puréed beets (raw)

2 Tbsp vanilla

2 Tbsp oil

1 cup flour

1/4 cup cocoa

1/4 cup sugar

1 tsp baking powder

dash of salt

2 Tbsp confectioners sugar

Preheat over to 350ºF and prepare a baking sheet with parchment paper.

Purée the beets, use the vanilla and oil to help get a smoother consistency.

In a mixing bowl, combing flour, cocoa, sugar, baking powder, and salt.

Combine the beet purée with the dry ingredients.  Note, the cookie dough will be moist but heavy.  Once everything has been combined, scoop dough onto baking baking sheet.  I used my tablespoon measure to get evenly sized cookies – 16 cookies, actually – and then I squished them down a little bit.  Just a little.

Bake for 10 – 12 minutes.  Allow to cool for at least 5 – 10 minutes, and then sprinkle with confectioners sugar.

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

