Magic Balls

14 10 2011

And by Magic Balls, I mean they’re vegan, meat-ish, and tasty.

I made these a day ahead so that I could test drive them before actually serving to guests.  And by test drive, I mean that I put some on a plate and made SO eat them first.  He liked them, therefore they passed the test.

Sautéed and ready to go, these magic balls waited over night in the fridge, before being baked to perfection in the oven.  And then smothered in mushroom gravy (recipe to come).  You gotta love a dish that allows you to make it ahead.  As an aside, I basically made everything for my Thanks Giving dinner in the days before the actual dinner.  The day I hosted my feast, I showed up home at 5:15 from a really long bike ride, turned on the over, had a quick shower (during which time the oven got hot), put everything in the oven, got ready, and ZAMMO! dinner was ready in a flash.  Then, once dinner was out of the oven, I jammed the pumpkin filling into my pre-made crust and got that thing baking while we were eating.

Honestly, I felt like Martha Stewart for how organized I was and how smoothly everything went.

Walnut Tofu Balls

6 cloves garlic, peeled

1 1/2 cups oats

1 cup raw walnuts, whole or in pieces

1/3 cup sunflower seeds

1 tsp salt

1 1/2 tsp pepper

2 tsp ground sage

2 tsp cumin

dash cayenne pepper

1/2 cup wheat germ

2 Tbsp arrowroot powder

1 pkg firm tofu (280 g)

3 Tbsp vegetable oil

1 Tbsp balsamic vinegar

Grab your food processor.  Combine garlic, oats, nuts, sunflower seeds, and dry spices in the food processor.  Whizz around until mixture is medium-fine.

Add wheat germ and arrowroot flour, and pulse a few times to blend.

Add the tofu and blend.  Gradually add 1 tablespoon of oil and the balsamic vinegar.  Blend just long enough to evenly distribute the ingredients, then taste and adjust seasoning as necessary.

Form the mixture into balls, links, or patties and brown them in a sauté pan over medium heat in the remaining 2 Tbsp of oil.  Drain on paper towels.  Transfer them to the prepared baking sheet and bake for 15 minutes,.

*Recipe originally from The Veganopolis Cookbook by David Stowell and George Black

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

