The best thing I ever put in my mouth

21 12 2011

20111219-065849.jpg

At Christmas I bake like a mad woman who bakes a lot of cookies and this year was no exception.  The exception this year is that after madly baking all the cookies I ship off and send to friends and family, I baked some more for SO and I.

These crazy little cookies are so heavenly that after, the holiday season, I’ll probably take a stab at making these bad-boys in a less devil-may-care-holiday kind of way and a more holy-crap-spring-is-coming-faster-than-I-thought-it-would-and-I-need-watch-my-winter-weight kind of way.

In the mean time, it’s Christmas and for me that means it’s a time to enjoy the foods I avoid (consume in moderation) throughout the rest of the year.  So, tip up a mug of boozy coffee, grab some cookies, and enjoy the morning paper – it’s Christmas!

20111219-065907.jpg

Apricot Thumbprint Cookies

1 1/2 cups flour

1/2 tsp baking soda

1/2 tsp baking powder

1/2 tsp salt

3/4 cup almond butter

1/2 cup Earth Balance or margarine

1/2 cup brown sugar

1 flax egg (1 1/2 Tbsp ground flax + 3 Tbsp water)

1 tsp vanilla extract

1/3 cup sugar, for rolling

1/2 cup apricot jam

Preheat over to 350ºF and prepare a baking sheet with parchment paper.

In a mixing bowl, combing flour, baking soda, baking powder, and salt.

Beat the almond butter, Earth Balance, and brown sugar together until creamy.  Add the vanilla and flax egg, continue to cream together.  With your mixer on low, slowly add the dry ingredient mixture to the creamy mixture.

FYI: I refrigerated my dough for about 2 hours so that I could go do other things, this isn’t necessary but it’s possible.

Pour sugar into a bowl.  Scoop our tablespoon scoops of dough, roll into balls, and then roll balls in sugar bowl.  Place your sugared balls on the parchment lined baking sheets, leaving 2 inches between cookies.

Using your thumb (or other suitable thumb substitute) make indentations in each cookie before baking for 12 minutes.  Don’t be alarmed if your thumbprint virtually disappears when the cookies bake – that’s normal.  You can counter the disappearing thumbprints by pulling the cookies out 5 minutes early and, using a measuring spoon, re-indenting you cookies, and then returning to the over for the final 5 minutes.

After baking, allow cookies to cool for 10 – 15 minutes before adding a dollop of apricot jam to each cookie.

Try and eat just one.  I dare you.

20111219-065920.jpg

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

