I’m sick and I want soup

1 01 2012

20111230-114914.jpg

At first I thought it was just muscle soreness but then my bones started aching, that’s when I realized I was actually getting ill.  Honestly, I should have clued in when I wasn’t interested in eating – I’m ALWAYS interested in eating.

Too much water, dosing up on vitamin C, oil of oregano, and echinachea, along with lots of rest, and soup: That’s my wellness action plan.

Operation: STOP BEING A LAZY BABY is underway and it’s starting with soup.

The only upside to all of this is that the next time I play Pandemic I’ll get to go first.

Green Vegetable Soup

3 – 4 cups vegetable stock

2 Tbsp chopped onion

1 cm fresh ginger, thinly sliced

1/2 cup tofu

1/2 cup chopped broccoli

1/2 cup chopped zucchini

1/4 cup sliced mushrooms

1/2 cup chopped baby bok choy

1 – 2 Tbsp rice wine vinegar

1 – 2 Tbsp Braggs or tamari soy sauce (depending on how salty your broth is)

Did I mention I was feeling ill when I made this soup?  Well, the cooking process was the lazy bones way of making soup because I wasn’t interested in faffing about in the kitchen when I could have been curled up on the couch, wallowing in self pity.

So, I guess that means step one is to put your lazy pants on.

In a medium to large soup pot, bring broth, onion, and ginger to a boil, then lower heat to a simmer (medium heat).  If you don’t like eating ginger, this is the time to fish out your ginger slices, otherwise you can leave them in there to let the magic ginger heal your head cold.

Stir tofu into soup broth, wait a minute.  Stir broccoli, zucchini, mushrooms, and baby bok choy into soup, wait 2 – 4 minutes, until the green veggies are luminous green.  Now is the time to stir in rice wine vinegar and Braggs.

Done!

Divide soup into 2 – 4 bowls, depending on how what kind of soup greed has taken hold of you in your feverish state, return to couch to wallow in self pity with a piping hot bowl of soup.

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

