Lazy cabbage lunch

7 01 2012

20111230-114727.jpg

I hate to alarm you folks, but the holiday season has now passed, unless of course you celebrate Orthodox Christmas, in which case Christmas to you today!

When I buy parsley, cilantro, carrots, broccoli or cabbage I usually clean it all up in one go and then store it in containers in the fridge.  This saves me the constant effort of cleaning and cutting, or the ability to make excuses not to make something sensible:

But cutting the vegetables takes so much time and I wanna eat NOW… so I’m gonna order pizza and wait 40 minutes for it to get here.

Anyway, I had left over macaroni noodles in the fridge, which I wanted to eat.  I also had sliced up cabbage in the fridge, which I wanted to eat (When I am old I will wear purple, in the mean time I’m just gonna eat purple stuff).  So I decided to eat them together.  The resulting car-accident was a delicious and satisfying meal for one on a cold January day.

20111230-114733.jpg

Noodly Cabbage

1 – 1.5 cups sliced or chopped red cabbage

1/4 cup apple juice

1 tsp cumin

1/2 cup cooked macaroni

salt and pepper to taste

Put apple juice  in a non-stick frying pan on medium-high heat.  When the apple juice is nearly ready to simmer, throw your cabbage and cumin into the pan and give it a stir.  Allow cabbage to cook for 5 – 6 minutes, stirring occasionally.  If you apple juice is evaporating too quickly, you may need to add a splash more – just enough to keep from burning your cabbage.

When the cabbage is very nearly done, stir in the macaroni.  Once the macaroni is warmed through and you’ve added what salt and pepper you would like to enjoy with your meal, lunch is ready!

Grab a plate or bowl and a fork or spoon and dig in!

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

