Bubble and squeak, -ish

17 01 2012

20120114-192134.jpg

When I first moved to England I had no idea what “toad in the hole”, “ruby murray”, and “bubble and squeak” meant.  I’m still not convinced I understand but I nod and pretend that I’m in on the joke… it is a joke, right?

Anyway, I’m pretty certain that bubble and squeak is a fun name for left over mashed potatoes and cabbage, among other things.  Generally this melange is shallow fried and it’s delicious.

By the way, I’m giving the Brits credit, but Google informed me that the Irish call it Colcannon,the Germans call is Bauernfuhstuck, the Danes call it Bikesmad, and the Columbians call it Calentado.

Anyway, I had some stuff in my fridge and I was looking to make a meal.  I knew I needed to use the baby bok choy, wanted to use the rutabaga, and thought mushrooms would make a nice addition.  In the end, I enjoyed a plate of mashed veggies, topped with green veggies.  It wasn’t a flashy mean, but it was just the right kind of stick-to-your-bones good that is needed when it’s -30ºC outside.

20120114-192141.jpg

Mashed Veggies (Bubble)

1 large rutabaga, peeled and cubed

1 medium potato, washed and cubed

3 large carrots, washed/peeled and chopped

(Note: you can include parsnips if you’d like.)

salt and pepper to taste

2 – 3 Tbsp olive oil (or EFA oil if you allow the veggies to cool slightly before mashing)

Add all the cubed and chopped veggies to a pot and cover with water.  On medium-high or high heat, bring the water to a boil and cook the vegetables until tender, approximately 15 – 20 minutes.

Drain the water from the pot and then, if you removed the vegetables from the pot to remove the water, return the vegetables to the pot.  Mash.  Mash.  Mash!  Season and mash the vegetables, add the oil and mash the vegetables a little more.

If you haven’t already prepared your green veggies, put a lit on this mash and set it aside for a minute.

Green Veggies to Accompany Mash (Squeak)

1 to 1 1/2  cups of bok choy – per person, chopped

1/2 cup sliced mushroom – per person

a bit of garlic, I’ll leave it to you to discern how much is appropriate for your meal

1/2 tsp oil

Heat oil in a frying pan and then add everything.  Stir it up, don’t let it stick and watch your greens – they are going to lead the show and tell you when to stop cooking.  You’re watching your greens to see them get a little wilted and a lot brighter.

Remove from heat and grab some plates.

Putting it together

Plate the mashed veggies and then top with green veggies.  DONE!

Feel free to enjoy this with your preferred veggie cutlet: seitan, tempeh, or tofu – it’ll be great!

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

