Peanut Pasta with Tempeh and Chard

19 01 2012

20120114-192231.jpg

I decided to try something new with my photos.  I’m not sure how I feel about it.

I bought some chard, swiss chard.  Actually “some” is an understatement, I bought 3 bundles for 1 girl to consume in 6 days – that’s probably a lot of chard, swiss chard.  But I like a challenge and I’m committed to eating my greens.

I think 2012 is going to be the year of the library for me.  I think I’ve already checked out 30 books this year, and The Skinny Bitch: Ultimate Everyday Cookbook is one of them.  This recipe very nearly came from the book, but in the end the book just inspired it.

I didn’t have brown rice pasta spirals so I used whole wheat macaroni.

I didn’t want this to be a pasta dish with veggies, I wanted a veggie dish with some pasta.

I didn’t have broccoli so I used swiss chard.

I didn’t have carrots and I couldn’t find anything to replace them.

20120114-192236.jpg

I’m happy to say that I was pleased with the results and continue to be pleased with the left overs.

20120114-192242.jpg

Peanut Pasta with Tempeh and Chard

3 Tbsp sesame oil, divided

1 (225 g) pkg tempeh, crumbled

4 – 5 cups swiss chard, chpped

1 red bell pepper, julienned

1 cup uncooked pasta of your choice, cooked

3 Tbsp natural peanut butter

1/4 cup water

2 Tbsp Braggs or tamari

1 Tbsp agave nectar

1 Tbsp apple cider vinegar

1 Tbsp fresh ginger

1 tsp chili flakes

sesame seeds, for garnish

Get your pasta cooked.  While your pasta is cooking, get all your veggies chopped and ready to go.

Heat 1 to 2 Tbsp sesame oil in non-stick frying pan over high heat.  Fry the tempeh until slightly crispy, about 5 minutes, stirring occasionally.  Add the chopped swiss chard and stir, cooking for another 2 – 3 minutes.  Add red pepper and remove from heat.

In a blender, food processor, or a bowl armed with a whisk, combine peanut butter, 1 Tbsp sesame oil, water, soy sauce, agave nectar, vinegar, chili flakes, and ginger.  Blend, whiz, or whisk until completely combined.

Mix all three parts together: pasta + veggies + peanut sauce.

Portion into bowls or onto plates and garnish with sesame seeds – if you’re feeling fancy tonight.  Otherwise, devour in the same manner you devour all delicious creations.

20120114-192248.jpg

Actions

Information

3 responses

6 02 2012
Soba Noodles with Asian Marinated Tempeh | ZestyVegan.Com

[…] Peanut Pasta with Tempeh and Chard (pkcooks.wordpress.com) […]

6 02 2012
Soba Noodles with Asian Marinated Tempeh | Zesty Vegan

[…] Peanut Pasta with Tempeh and Chard (pkcooks.wordpress.com) […]

22 03 2012
Ryan

Great dish

Leave a Reply

