Broke-ass January Broccoli Slaw Soup

2 02 2012

It’s still January and I’m still a little broke.  Broccoli slaw was on sale at Loblaws and I thought it would make for great stir fries for a lazy girl.

I was mistaken.

When I use the broccoli stalk, I normally cut the tough outer edges off but apparently when prepared commercially, they don’t always take all the tough edges off.

My remedy was to cook the slaw into soup.

I was uncertain about whether it worked until I tested it on my neighbours who thought the soup was delicious.  Normally I’d be a little hesitant to accept their feedback at face value, but they’re pretty honest with me.

Broccoli Slaw Soup

1 bag broccoli slaw

6 cups of water – at least

2 vegetable stock cubes

1/4 to 1/2 cup soy cream

salt and pepper

In a large pot or dutch oven, empty your bag of broccoli slaw and add 6 cups of water and soup stock cubes – this should cover the broccoli bits.  Turn heat to medium-high and allow to simmer for 30 – 45 minutes.

I’m not joking about that length of time.  With all the really tough bits in the bag, you want to let it simmer, giving the tough bits a chance to break down.

Transfer soup in batches to a food processor or blender, and whiz it around until it’s really smooth.  Return to pot and heat to serving temperature but not to boiling.  Stir in soy cream, season with salt and pepper and voila!

NOTE: Soy milk and soy cream are not huge fans of being boiled, so avoid using high heat to reheat your creamy, delicious, cost effective soup that’ll feed an army.

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

